September and Fall Fun!

If any of you know me, you know that I absolutely love fall. It means beautiful colors, perfect temperatures (I like needing a sweater and/or a scarf), great food, good company, and the holidays. I’ve heard from quite a few people that they hate fall because it means winter is coming (not in the GoT way), but I actually don’t mind winter either. Anyways, the cooler weather means I have been in a pretty darn good mood lately. This past month I did not do too many things–I worked 28 days in a row. Some days were me being on call, but it is still not time off. Matt and I had a few dates exploring our new neighborhood that included stopping at Hamburger Mary’s and splitting a milkshake. Adorable ;). I am honestly not sure how he let this picture happen:

Image

However, as of October 1, I will no longer be working with the human trafficking program. I will be working three days a week with the seniors program and two days a week with a really great program that connects vulnerable seniors in the community to different community organizations and churches. It is great and I was able to experience one of their service days last weekend. It was humbling to see how much people were willing to volunteer their time to those who needed it. Needless to say, I have a very good feeling about being involved in some of the grass root efforts of this program!

Of course, I did do some things. I was able to visit my family for a day and see my baby cousin all dressed up for her first high school homecoming dance. She looked absolutely gorgeous and so grown up!

Image

While it was nice to see my family, it was also great to spend last weekend with friends! On Saturday night, Matt and I were able to see my best friend Sara, Rob, Sabrina, Mike, Heidi, Meg, Howard, Tony, and Paige all in one night! It was great. Here is a picture of Sara and I at Dark Horse:

Image

The next day, Matt and I went with our other group of friends to go Apple picking at County Line Orchard in Hobart, IN. It’s only about an hour from Chicago, but it is far enough away to feel like a totally different world. We went with Andy, Alex, Alec, and Emily and had a really nice time! Although six people should never be forced to squeeze into my car, we made it work, as you can see:

Image

Here are a few more pictures of the group from the day. PS If you ever go here, BUY THE APPLE CIDER DOUGHNUTS AS WELL AS THE PUMPKIN DOUGHNUTS. You will not be disappointed, but your waist line might be:

Image

ImageImage

We all came back to our apartment, made spiked apple cider, and watched the spooky fish episode of South Park. It kicked off the Halloween season for sure. This next month will be full of haunted houses, scary movies (bad and good), and It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown! I also plan on attempting to deepen my yoga practice through additional practice and literature. I hope you all enjoy the season as much as I plan to.

Until next time,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

