Christmastime is Here

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all! This has been a jam packed, family and friend filled month. The holidays are a time to slow down, reflect, and eat! While I have done plenty of resting, eating, and reflecting this month, I am ready for life to get back to normal. Matt and I have been relaxing, cleaning, and cooking this weekend and plan on enjoying the rest of the holidays. This is what my apartment has looked like this month:

ImageThe month of festivities began by my mother, aunt, and cousin coming to visit and going with Matt and I to Christkindlmarket in Daley Plaza. It is a German marketplace with spiced wine, sugared nuts, and happiness. However, it was freezing and jam packed so we did not spend too much time there. It is a tradition to go there and look at Macy’s windows. My aunt had surgery later in the month and my sister was not home from school before the surgery, so we decided to split our normal holiday activities so that everyone could be involved.

ImageMatt and I continued the festivities by celebrating “Zarobsky Sibling Christmas” with Matt’s brothers and their wives. We spent the day eating and watching football. Kim (Matt’s sister-in-law) made an awesome Cajun inspired turkey and the rest of us brought sides and appetizers. I think everyone had a nice relaxing day, although there was a ton of snow on the way home.

The next weekend, Matt and I went with some of his law school friends to see the midnight showing of The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. It was a good time, but man, I am too old for those midnight showings! The next day my sister Sarah and my cousin Lauren came up to see a teeny bopper band play in Logan Square. Lauren’s friend was supposed to be coming up, but cancelled unexpectedly at the last minute so my sister took her ticket. We may have been too old to be there, but whatever. As you can see, it was still fun!

ImageImageThe next day, Matt and I went to the Zarobsky extended family Christmas. It’s always a good time when Matt’s whole family gets together. They are a lively bunch and we had a great time! In lieu of exchanging gifts with specific people, they play a game called 7-11. Essentially, everyone picks numbers and takes turns choosing wrapped gifts until the gifts are off the table. After everyone unwraps the gifts, each person takes turns to roll a pair of dice. If the person rolling gets 7 or 11, they have the opportunity to swap gifts with someone else. Pretty fun and usually involves swapping bottles of booze over and over.

ImageMatt and I ended up with some wine charms (super cute), a few small games, lotion, and a whiskey glass/decanter set. We loved it all!

The next weekend, my sister came up and we went to Piece Pizza (which I have raved about in previous posts, so I will not discuss again) and the next day my mother, uncle, and cousin joined us to go to the Lincoln Park Zoo Lights. It’s always a magical experience and, while we missed my aunt, we were glad to have my uncle Buddy join us this year!

ImageThat Sunday, Matt and I went to my best friend Sara’s birthday party at Two Brother’s Round House in Aurora. It was a blast! It was a really nice way to enjoy the holiday season with friends while celebrating an awesome lady! The first picture is a picture of Sara and Rob taking a selfie đŸ˜‰ and the second is of Matt and I.

ImageImageOverall, Christmas was quiet and fun! Here are a few pictures from the day:

ImageImageI hope you all had a great Christmas and will have a safe and fun New Year!

Cheers,

Amanda

Leave a Reply

