Celebrations and Summertime!

Happy fourth of July weekend, people! I hope you were able to celebrate with friends and family. Other than doing beach yoga and farmers markets, I have had a few weekend adventures thus far. As most of you probably know, Matt graduated law school! Yay! Which means that his awesome dad and his dad’s girlfriend (Kerry and Mel) hosted a totally awesome graduation party! He smoked a bunch of brisket and pork and we feasted, swam, and had a blast. Here is a picture of the meat:

meat

And here is a cute picture of Matt fighting all of the children (his two cousins and his oldest niece) in the pool:

matt.pool

The next day, I was able to visit my dance alma mater, La Danse Academie, and see my gorgeous cousin perform! She did a great job in her numbers and I could see how much the studio has progressed. They’re getting a new space this year, and it seems like perfect timing! Such talent.

boot's recital

I was then able to attend the Chicago Full Moon Fire Jam at Foster Beach. It was such a blast and there were definitely some cool people spinning flames around. There was free yoga through Moksha yoga before the jam too! It was different than the usual vinyasa classes I take, but I liked switching it up. I was able to see some of my good friends (Matt, Emily, Laura, Alec, Andy, Alex, and Dan). We got ice cream and watched the show. Here is a picture, although it is terrible. I recommend looking through their photo albums to get a better effect (linked above):

Fire Jam

Next in June, I was able to see my superhero mom’s return to the stage in Nunset Boulevard! She did SUCH an amazing job–seriously! Talent! It takes guts to get up on stage and perform–especially after a 25 year break. Joliet has some talented people hanging around, so see some shows there if you get a chance. I know Rent is coming up (I’m sure people are pumped about this). Check it out! Here is a picture of my mom dressed as a nun.

Nunset Blvd

Because of the show, my sister and I made sure to help her out and work the Vegas booth at the annual St. Joseph Church’s Homecoming picnic at the park! They have cheap drinks and good food most weekends in the summer. See the link for the schedule. If you’re lucky, you may catch some polka. Unfortunately,  my sister and I worked the booth during the tsunami:

StJoesPark

Our staff field trip was also this month–we went to the Garfield Park Conservatory, one of the most beautiful south side gems. Definitely check it out if you have a chance. I got to see banana trees!

Garfield Park Conservatory

Then, we went and played Bible Bingo. Apparently, priests receive social security benefits, but nuns do not. RIDICULOUS. So this woman started “Bible Bingo” to raise money for nuns who have retired. Pretty cool! And….I won! Obviously, it was a record of The King and I, a CHS of Independence Day, and a Mother Theresa holy card.

Bible Bingo

The next weekend, we went to the Chicago Pride Parade, which was, as always, a blast! Especially after legalization this year! I think it’s funny to post about gay pride right below Bible Bingo. Here is a picture anyways:

Pride

Last, we celebrated the Fourth of July with friends through blue and red jello shots (that I made), grilled meats (that Laura and Sean, our gracious hosts, prepared), and an apple pie with stars on top (all Matt!).

American Pie

More adventures to come! Until next time.

-Amanda

Leave a Reply

